Message from HOD
Welcome to the Central Department of Mathematics, Tribhuvan University! Mathematics is very interesting, important and forms the foundation of physical sciences and technology. Its importance is growing in various areas such as business, finance, management, engineering, ICT, biology, medicine, and many social sciences. The department was started in the same year as the establishment of Tribhuvan University in 1959 AD (2016 BS) and runs under the Institute of Science and Technology. It off...
Read More »
Jul 29 2022
3rd Seminar Cum Workshop on Mathematics and Its Applications
May 26 2022
Mathematical Modeling for Epidemic Control and Prevention
May 26 2022
Transportation Network Optimization for Emergency Planning and Logistic Support
Faculty Members
There  are 16 full time faculty members in the department and 7 part time teaching assistants as follows:


Tanka Nath Dhamala
, PhD (Optimization)
Professor and Head

Kedar Nath Uprety, PhD  (Differential Equations) (Former Head)
Chet Raj Bhatta, PhD (Harmonic Analysis)MPhil Coordinator
Narayan Prasad Pahari, PhD (Functional Analysis)
Ajaya Singh, PhD (Complex Dynamics)
Urmila Pyakurel, PhD (Optimization)
Associate Professors
Mr. Tulasi Prasad Nepal (Algebra)
Shree Ram Khadka, PhD (Optimization)
Durga Jung K. C., PhD (Differential Equations)

Bishnu Hari Subedi, PhD (Complex Dynamics)
Mr. Jhavi L Ghimire
Mr. Pawan Shrestha 
Mr. Ganga Ram D. C. 
Mr. Nabaraj Adhikari
Mr. Santosh Gnawali 
Jeevan Kafle, PhD (Differential Equations)

Part Time Teaching Assistants 
Mr. Youba Raj Gaire
Ram Chandra Dhungana, PhD (Optimization)
Mr. Sabindra Giri 
Mr. Lila Prasad Bagale
Mr. Shanti Prasad Kafle
Mr. Bijaya Subedi
Mr. Baburam Devkota 

Former Faculty Members

Late Prof. Aasutosh Ganguly
Late Prof. Keshav Dev Bhattarai
Late Prof. Govinda Dev Pant
Late Prof. Dhup Ranta Bajracharya (Former Head)
Prof. Purna Bahadur M.A.
Prof. Gambhir Man Shrestha
Prof. Tara Pada Chaudhary
Late Prof. Krishna Murari Saksena
Prof.V. D. Thawani
Prof. S. Jagannathan
Prof. P. SubbaRao
Prof. K. S. Rao
Prof. Suresh Chandra Arya
Prof. N. N. Agrawal
Prof. A. Roy
Prof. Ram Chandra Chaudhary
Prof. S. R. P. Sinha
Late Prof. Bhawani Shankar Rajbanshi
Late Prof. Ram Man Shrestha.PhD (Former Rector, TU)
Prof. Murari Prasad Ojha
Prof. Basudev Uprety, PhD
Prof. Santosh Man Maskey, PhD
Late Prof. Rameshwor P. Manadhhar, PhD (Former Head)
Prof. Shankar Raj Pant, PhD (Former Head)
Late Prof. Yog Ratna Sthapit,PhD (Former Head)
Prof. Hom Nath Bhattarai, PhD (Former VC NAST)
Prof. Yadav Prasad Koirala (Former Head)
Prof. Gajendra Bahadur Thapa, PhD (Former Head)
Prof. Hira Bahadur Maharjan, PhD (Former VC TU)
Arjun Acharya, PhD
Mukta Bahadur Bhandari, PhD
Mahendra Panthee, PhD
Prof. Keshab Sitaula
Prof. Prakash Muni Bajracharya, PhD